How much does a custom CRM cost in the UK in 2026?

Short answer

A focused custom CRM costs £15,000 to £35,000 to build in the UK in 2026 and takes 8 to 14 weeks, according to the published price tiers of London developer Softomate. A growth platform for several teams costs £35,000 to £120,000. After launch, budget £200 to £600 a year for hosting and 15% to 25% of the build price a year for maintenance. No independent survey covers CRM builds, so every range here comes from firms that sell them.

Yarigai is a done-for-you AI agency that builds these systems, so read this with that in mind. Every price and figure links to its source below. Read this page as Markdown.

At a glance

ItemCost or priceSource
Focused CRM (MVP)£15,000 to £35,000, 8 to 14 weeksSoftomate, October 2026
Growth CRM for several teams£35,000 to £120,000, 14 to 24 weeksSoftomate, October 2026
Enterprise CRM£120,000 to £350,000+, 24 to 40 weeksSoftomate, October 2026
Mid-market build (US rates)$30,000 to $80,000, 3 to 5 monthsCall IT Dev, 2026
Each integration£1,500 to £5,000Softomate, October 2026
Hosting£200 to £600 a yearSoftomate, October 2026
Maintenance15% to 25% of the build cost a yearEdana, January 2026
HubSpot Sales Hub Professional$90 per seat per month billed annually, plus $1,500 onboardingHubSpot, November 2026
Salesforce Pro Suite (UK)£80 per user per month, billed annuallySalesforce UK, November 2026

List prices as of 7 November 2026. HubSpot shows USD only, and this page makes no currency conversions.

Custom CRM build costs by tier

Softomate's UK rate card puts a focused custom CRM at £15,000 to £35,000, and Call IT Dev's US rate card puts a basic one at $10,000 to $30,000. Softomate's growth tier midpoint (£77,500) is 3.1 times its MVP midpoint (£25,000).

SourceTier and scopePriceTimeline
Softomate (London)Focused CRM MVP£15,000 to £35,0008 to 14 weeks
Softomate (London)Growth CRM platform£35,000 to £120,00014 to 24 weeks
Softomate (London)Enterprise CRM£120,000 to £350,000+24 to 40 weeks
Call IT DevMVP with contacts, deals, a pipeline, 1 to 2 integrations and one user role$10,000 to $30,0006 to 10 weeks
Call IT DevMid-market with workflows, reporting, user roles and 3 to 6 integrations$30,000 to $80,0003 to 5 months
Call IT DevEnterprise with several entities, single sign-on and audit trails$80,000 to $250,000+6 to 12 months
CleveroadSmall to medium CRM with essential features$50,000 to $80,000+Not stated
GoodFirms survey of 100+ firmsAny small to mid-sized custom software project$30,000 to $100,000 at 66% of firmsNot stated

GoodFirms is the only survey in the table. Its March 2026 survey found that 66% of software companies charge $30,000 to $100,000 for a small to mid-sized project and 56% bill $20 to $50 an hour. It does not split out CRMs.

The vendor ranges are rough. Cleveroad's FAQ quotes $20,000 to $50,000+ for an essential CRM, below its own table, and says offshore teams come in about 20% to 50% under its listed prices.

Software firms expect AI to trim prices, not halve them. In the GoodFirms survey, 90.6% of firms use AI tools and 61% expect AI to cut project budgets by 10% to 25%.

Seat-count breakeven against HubSpot and Salesforce

Seat count decides the answer more than build price does. A £15,000 build pays back against Salesforce Pro Suite in 2.2 years at 10 seats and in 11 months at 20 seats. At 5 seats it takes 7.7 years.

HubSpot Sales Hub Professional costs $90 × 12 months = $1,080 per seat a year. Salesforce Pro Suite costs £80 × 12 = £960 per user a year. Both are list prices as of November 2026.

SeatsHubSpot Sales Hub ProfessionalSalesforce Pro Suite (UK)
5$5,400 a year, plus $1,500 onboarding once£4,800 a year
10$10,800 a year, plus $1,500 onboarding once£9,600 a year
20$21,600 a year, plus $1,500 onboarding once£19,200 a year
50$54,000 a year, plus $1,500 onboarding once£48,000 a year

The next table shows how long each build takes to pay for itself. It compares UK-rate builds with Salesforce in pounds and US-rate builds with HubSpot in dollars.

Seats£15,000 build vs Salesforce Pro£35,000 build vs Salesforce Pro$30,000 build vs HubSpot Pro$80,000 build vs HubSpot Pro
57.7 yearsNever31.7 yearsNever
102.2 years9.3 years4.5 yearsNever
2011 months2.6 years1.7 years8.2 years
504 months10 months7 months1.9 years

How the payback is worked out

Payback in years = build cost ÷ (yearly subscription saved minus yearly running cost of the build).

  • The GBP builds carry £600 a year of hosting (the top of Softomate's range) plus maintenance at 15% of the build cost. That is £2,850 a year on £15,000 and £5,850 a year on £35,000.
  • Worked example at 10 seats: £9,600 minus £2,850 = £6,750 saved a year, and £15,000 ÷ £6,750 = 2.2 years.
  • The USD builds carry 15% maintenance ($4,500 a year on $30,000, $12,000 on $80,000). The $1,500 HubSpot onboarding fee you avoid comes off the build cost. None of the USD sources gives a hosting figure, so these sums leave hosting out.
  • Worked example at 20 seats: $21,600 minus $4,500 = $17,100 saved a year, and $28,500 ÷ $17,100 = 1.7 years.
  • "Never" means the build costs more to run each year than the subscription it replaces.

The 15% figure is the low end of Edana's range. At 25%, every payback in the table gets longer.

To find the seat count where a build pays back inside three years, divide the build cost by 3, add the yearly running cost, then divide by the yearly price per seat. For the £15,000 build that is (£5,000 + £2,850) ÷ £960 = 8.2, so 9 seats. The £35,000 build needs 19 seats, the $30,000 build needs 13 HubSpot Professional seats and the $80,000 build needs 36.

Cheaper tiers move the line a long way. Salesforce Starter Suite costs £20 per user per month, or £240 a year. At 20 users that is £4,800 a year, so the same £15,000 build takes 7.7 years to pay back.

Running and maintenance costs

Plan on 15% to 25% of the build price every year to keep a custom CRM working, plus £200 to £600 a year for hosting. On a £25,000 build that is £3,750 to £6,250 a year of maintenance.

  • Hosting runs £200 to £600 a year, according to Softomate.
  • Softomate's optional care plan starts at £499 a month, which is £5,988 a year. Softomate says it adds about £18,000 or more over three years.
  • Cleveroad puts annual maintenance for a custom CRM at $5,000 to $20,000+.
  • Edana splits maintenance into fixes for bugs and security holes, adaptive work for operating system, database and cloud changes (20% to 30% of the budget), and new features (40% to 60%).
  • If the CRM calls an AI model to score leads or draft emails, the model provider bills per use on top of hosting. No published source gives a typical figure for a small business CRM, so ask for it on the quote.

The 15% to 25% rule is repeated by vendors and consultancies. No primary study supports it, so treat it as a planning number.

What drives the price of a custom CRM

Integrations, user roles and reporting move the price more than the number of screens. Softomate prices each one as a separate add-on.

Cost driverAdded costSource
Each integration£1,500 to £5,000, depending on the other system's API and sync directionSoftomate
Custom reporting and analytics£5,000 to £25,000Softomate
Access controls beyond a simple admin and user split£3,000 to £15,000Softomate
Advanced UK GDPR requirements£5,000 to £30,000Softomate
AI features such as lead scoringWhole projects with AI features often total $50,000 to $125,000GoodFirms
Scope creepAdds 10% to 25% to project costGoodFirms

Basic UK GDPR work (consent capture, right to erasure and an audit log) comes included in reputable UK builds, according to Softomate. Moving contacts, deals and history from an old system is a separate job. Call IT Dev lists data migration as part of its enterprise tier.

Red flags in a CRM quote

The biggest warning sign is a quote that prices the build but not the years after it. Check for these before you sign.

  1. No running cost line. Hosting, maintenance and any AI usage should appear as monthly figures.
  2. No written scope. GoodFirms puts scope creep at 10% to 25% of project cost, and a fixed price only holds against a written list of screens, roles and integrations.
  3. Integrations marked "included" but not named. At £1,500 to £5,000 each, one missing integration changes the price.
  4. The code or database sits in the developer's own account. Ask who owns the code, the hosting account and the data, and what happens if the agency closes. Softomate lists that last question in its own FAQ.
  5. No plan for migrating existing contacts, deals and notes.
  6. No security review of AI-written code. Veracode found OWASP Top 10 flaws in 45% of test cases when more than 100 AI models completed 80 coding tasks.
  7. No export route. You should be able to export every record to CSV at any time.
  8. Hourly billing with no cap.

How Yarigai builds a custom CRM

Yarigai builds CRMs around a client's sales process, inside the client's own accounts. The client owns the code, the data and the accounts from day one, and there is nothing to sign up for.

  1. A free 30-minute scope call on Google Meet. The client keeps the notes whether they hire Yarigai or not.
  2. A blueprint of about a week, credited to the build. It contains a written plan, a clickable prototype, the monthly running cost, a fixed price and the payback maths.
  3. The build, 2 to 6 weeks in the client's accounts, with a demo of working software every week. A single workflow can go live in about two weeks.
  4. Optional monthly care. The client can cancel any month and keep everything.

Yarigai quotes a fixed price after the one-week blueprint and does not publish prices. The client pays AI and hosting bills at cost, and the monthly running cost is on the quote. A person approves anything that sends money, emails a customer or deletes data.

The guarantee reads "If the build isn't profitable for you, we won't build it." The blueprint sets out what the CRM replaces, what that costs a year and what the build costs. If the build doesn't come out ahead within the first year, Yarigai doesn't take the job. The seat tables above use the same kind of sum. See AI sales systems for what Yarigai builds around a CRM, and custom CRM or HubSpot for the three-year comparison.

Common questions

How long does a custom CRM take to build?

Softomate quotes 8 to 14 weeks for a focused CRM and 14 to 24 weeks for a growth platform. Call IT Dev puts an MVP at 6 to 10 weeks and a mid-market build at 3 to 5 months. Yarigai's build stage runs 2 to 6 weeks after a one-week blueprint.

Can AI build a CRM for much less?

Software firms expect AI to cut some costs, but not most of them. In GoodFirms' 2026 survey, 61% of software firms expect AI to lower budgets by 10% to 25%. Veracode found OWASP Top 10 security flaws in 45% of the AI coding test cases it ran, so AI-written code still needs a human review.

What happens to my CRM if the developer stops trading?

That depends on who holds the code, the hosting account and the database. If all three are in your name, another developer can take the system over. If the developer hosts it in its own account, get a written handover clause before you sign.

How much does a CRM integration cost?

Softomate prices each integration at £1,500 to £5,000, depending on the quality of the other system's API and whether data syncs one way or both ways. Integrations also need upkeep when the other system changes its API.

Can I move my data out of HubSpot into a custom CRM?

Yes. HubSpot exports records one object at a time as CSV, XLS or XLSX, allows up to 300 exports in a rolling 24 hours and keeps download links live for 30 days. Pick CSV with "All associated records", because the default caps each association column at 1,000 records.

Does a custom CRM need to comply with UK GDPR?

Yes, because it holds personal data. Softomate says basic compliance (consent capture, right to erasure and an audit log) comes included in reputable UK builds, and advanced regulatory requirements add £5,000 to £30,000.

Sources

Checked on or before 7 November 2026. Prices change, so check the live page before you decide.

  1. How Much Does Custom CRM Development Cost in the UK? 2026 Guide, Softomate Solutions, updated 1 October 2026.
  2. CRM Development Cost in 2026: Real Pricing & Ranges, Call IT Dev, checked 7 November 2026.
  3. Custom CRM Development Cost: Complete 2026 Guide, Cleveroad, updated 3 December 2025.
  4. Goodfirms Survey: 91% of Software Companies Use AI to Cut Development Costs in 2026, GlobeNewswire via AOL, published 17 March 2026.
  5. Sales Software Pricing | HubSpot, HubSpot, checked 7 November 2026.
  6. Salesforce Sales Pricing | Salesforce UK, Salesforce, checked 7 November 2026.
  7. Estimating Software Maintenance Costs: The Forgotten Key to Total Cost of Ownership, Edana, published 3 January 2026.
  8. Export your records, HubSpot Knowledge Base, checked 7 November 2026.
  9. AI-Generated Code Poses Major Security Risks in Nearly Half of All Development Tasks, Veracode Research Reveals, Veracode, published 30 July 2025.

Want the payback maths for your CRM?

Book a free 30-minute scope call. If the build isn't profitable for you, we won't build it.

Work with us